New Jersey: 1099 State Filing Requirements
2.8k views | Last modified 3/27/2023 6:21:56 AM EST | Added by TaxBandits Team

Applicable To
94X 1099 W-2 ACA W-4

The New Jersey Division of Taxation mandates the filing of the 1099 Forms if the amount paid or credited is $1,000 or more in a calendar year or if any New Jersey Income Tax was withheld from the payment.

TaxBandits supports the e-filing of Form 1099 with both the Federal and State of New Jersey. However, we do not support filing the RECONCILIATION OF TAX WITHHELD “Form NJ-W-3M” with the state, and the payer is responsible for filing the form before the deadline.

What to be filed

All 1099s (TaxBandits supports 1099 MISC, 1099 NEC,1099 INT, 1099 DIV, 1099 B, 1099 R, 1099 K, 1099 G, 1099 OID, W-2G)

Form NJ-W-3M - Division of Taxation Gross Income Tax Reconciliation of Tax Withheld

Due Date

The due date to file 1099 and NJ-W-3M with New Jersey is February 15.


Late filing of Form 1099

  • If you e-file 1099 late, you may be charged $100.00 per month as a penalty.

Late payment of state taxes

  • If you pay taxes late, you may be charged 5% of your tax due.

Underpayment of state taxes

  • You may be charged 5% of your unpaid taxes each month you delay. It will not exceed 25% of your tax liability.

Was this helpful? Yes No

Sign Up for a
FREE TaxBandits Account!

Register Now

Returning User? Sign in

Couldn't find what you
are looking for?

Contact Us

(704) 684-4751