Minnesota: 1099 State Filing Requirements
3.0k views | Last modified 1/4/2024 7:53:52 AM EST | Added by TaxBandits Team

Applicable To
94X 1099 W-2 ACA W-4

The Minnesota Department of Revenue mandates the filing of the 1099 Forms only if there is a state tax withholding. If there is no state tax withholding, the IRS will automatically forward your federal 1099 forms to the state agency since Minnesota is part of the CF/SF program.

Note: The state does not require a Reconciliation form to be submitted when e-filing form 1099.

What to be filed

All 1099s (TaxBandits supports 1099 MISC, 1099 NEC,1099 INT, 1099 DIV, 1099 B, 1099 R, 1099 K, 1099 G, 1099 OID, W-2G)

Due Date

The due date to file Form 1099s with Minnesota is January 31.

Penalty

A penalty of $50 will be imposed if the payer hasn’t filed a 1099 with the state (when there is a state withholding), or filed an incorrect/incomplete return, or failed to distribute the 1099 copy to the recipient. The maximum penalty can be $25,000/year.

For more information about Minnesota 1099 Reporting Requirements, click here

Was this helpful? Yes No

Sign Up for a
FREE TaxBandits Account!

Register Now

Returning User? Sign in

Couldn't find what you
are looking for?

Contact Us

(704) 684-4751 support@taxbandits.com